Buffalo Chicken Pizza

blog 017

This has got to be one of our new favorite meals. We invited some friends over for dinner last night, and I thought long and hard over what I should make (I’m super indecisive when it comes to making dinner!) When we’re having company, I try to make something that isn’t too expensive (the most expensive item in the pizza is the chicken!), feeds a lot, and is a crowd pleaser. So we decided on Buffalo Chicken Pizza 🙂

The first step is the dough. Our Kitchenaid Stand Mixer did all the work for this one! I love making pizza dough from scratch because it is CHEAP. Flour is the main ingredient. It is also very easy, and super delicious! I made the dough earlier in the day (it takes a while to rise, so I wanted to have it done), so I don’t have any pictures of that process. That will definitely be another post! However, I did use this recipe. 

blog 002

The dough recipe I made makes enough dough for two pizzas. I started by letting my dough rest for about thirty minutes, loosely covered with plastic wrap.

blog 007

After approximately thirty minutes, I sprinkled some corn meal on my pizza stone. This is important! Without the cornmeal, the pizza will stick to the stone. It will also not crisp up on the bottom. Shape the dough into a flat circle and place it on the pizza stone.

blog 008

Use a rolling pin to shape the dough. I usually “knuckle” the dough with my hands, but I discovered a rolling pin to be the best way! It creates a nice, even thickness. It also makes it simple to create a very thin crust (this crust is pretty thin).

blog 009

Now you’re ready to add some toppings! Brush on the buffalo sauce with a pastry brush.

blog 003

This is the buffalo sauce I made. To make, start by melting a stick of butter in a saucepan over low heat (I used leftover sauce, so I just reheated mine in the microwave!) Next, add 1/4 cup of Red Pepper Sauce. Red Pepper sauce is the same thing as Frank’s Red Hot, or just regular “Hot Sauce”. It is important that you use this, not “Wing Sauce”. After you add the hot sauce, whisk it until it is blended with the melted butter. To increase the hotness of the sauce, add Tabasco sauce. I added about ten shakes of Tabasco, and our sauce was a medium heat.

blog 004

Now for the chicken. You will be using cooked chicken, so any chicken is fine! It can be shredded Rotisserie chicken, or leftover chicken. For my cooked chicken, I just baked four frozen chicken breasts in the oven. I seasoned them with salt, pepper, and a bit of cayenne pepper. I also drizzled them with a bit of olive oil, just to keep them moist while baking. Don’t worry too much about the chicken here–they are just a topping on the pizza and they will be covered in sauce anyway–just use whatever you have!

blog 011

blog 012

Add the cooked chicken to the pizza, and then use the pastry brush to cover in the buffalo sauce.

blog 013

Finally, cover with shredded mozzarella cheese! You’re pizza is almost finished! Place pizza in a 500 degree F oven for approximately 5 minutes.

blog 014

When it’s finished it will look like this! If you want to make it even easier, you can buy pre-made pizza dough and wing sauce. However, It won’t be quite as good and will cost you some money! This pizza is delicious, and was definitely a crowd pleaser when we served it last night!

blog 020

Enjoy!

Buffalo Chicken Pizza

Serves: 4-6 (Makes 2 pizzas)

Ingredients:

Dough

3 cups of flour

2 tsp yeast

1/2 tbsp olive oil

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/3 cup warm water

corn meal

Toppings

1/4 cup hot sauce

Tabasco (to taste)

1/2 cup butter (1 stick)

shredded mozzarella cheese

approx. 3 cups cubed cooked chicken

Directions:

Prepare dough and chicken ahead of time. Go visit this blog for direct instructions (and a video) for how to make the dough.

Preheat oven to 500 degrees F.

Melt butter in a saucepan over low heat. Once melted, add hot sauce and Tabasco to taste. Whisk together. Keep saucepan on the stove top on low, to keep the sauce melted (we don’t want the butter to harden).

Sprinkle cornmeal on pizza stone/pan. Roll out dough into a circle with a rolling pin, as evenly as possible. You may need to sprinkle cornmeal on the rolling pin to keep it from sticking to the dough.

Once dough is ready, use a pastry brush to spread the buffalo sauce on the dough. Add chicken. Brush the buffalo sauce on top of the chicken. Sprinkle mozzarella cheese over the pizza.

Bake in the preheated oven for 5-7 minutes.

Leave a Reply

